Gratitude Optimism Happiness

100 years ago, I woke up feeling cold, reached for a sweater and coat hanging on my bedpost, put them both on. Got out of bed, put a log into the wood burning stove, and started a fire. Placed a kettle of water on the stove to make coffee, returned back into bed. Feeling a little warmer, I got out of bed and had coffee. Then I dressed in long johns, pants, 3 sweaters, 2 pairs of wool socks, boots, a coat, hat, and gloves. I picked up the empty water pale and a tool to break the ice in the creek. The thermometer reading was -21. I made my way to the outhouse which is a 5 minute walk. Then to the creek to get water which is another 20 minute walk. After making my way back home, I boiled water, drank more coffee ate lunch, consisting of home baked bread with butter, and stew from last nights dinner. I smiled, and thought how grateful I am to have shelter, heat, and food. I sat down to mend some worn out socks, and a sweater. Later in the day when the temperature will be warmer I will chop some logs, and perhaps go ice fishing. What a great day it will be.

2017, I woke up, got out of bed, made coffee. Looked out the window, it was snowing, foggy, grey. The temperature reading was -19. I fed and toileted the animals, returned back to bed with my coffee and laptop. Then thought how grateful I am to have a roof over my head, a heating system in the house, hot running water, plumbing, and food. Knowing the temperature usually warms up in the afternoon, I smiled and visualised being bundled up in warm clothes, the sun shining, walking on a freshly cleaned sidewalk with a very happy dog.

Leave a Reply

